Log in

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects 

Serving Michigan's Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, and Washtenaw Counties
Log in

Congratulations to this year’s Scholarship Recipients!

Wednesday, April 29, 2015 12:53 PM | Anonymous member

2015 Huron Valley Scholarship

We would like to recognize this year’s recipients of the 2015 Huron Valley Scholarship awards at the University of Michigan. This year’s recipients are architecture graduate student “Hans” Hyunseong Min and undergraduate student Kati Albee. Both students received $1250 merit awards for their outstanding work. An Honorable Mention was also given to graduate student Yojairo Lemeli for his outstanding work.  These awards are made possible in conjunction with the AIA Component Scholarship Program from AIA National.

Mr. Min, a native of Seoul, South Korea, received his B.S. in Architecture from Konkuk University in Seoul. Prior to coming to Michigan he worked at ChoHelo Architecture + Urbanism, where he served as an architectural design assistant. Hans received certification to become a LEED accredited professional, specializing in building design and construction. 

Ms. Albee is a junior in the undergraduate architecture program. She grew up in St. Joseph, Michigan, and worked at Jones Lang Lasalle, an investment management company specializing in real estate, as a contractor for the Whirlpool Corporation. She is also a member of AIAS and Alpha Rho Chi, a professional fraternity for architecture students.  

Mr. Lomeli, a native Detroiter, is a thesis student who received his B.S. in Architecture from the University of Michigan in 2013. He currently does independent fabrication work with two Michigan alumni and professor Mick Kennedy. Mr. Lomeli has worked as a mentor for ArcStart, a University program that develops drawing skills for high school students and as a graduate student instructor.

2015 Richard M. and Sidney K. Robinson Scholarship

We would also like to congratulate Trevor Herman Hilker, the recipient of the 2015 Robinson Scholarship. The Richard M. and Sidney K. Robinson Scholarship of $3500 recognizes an undergraduate architecture student who aspires to a career that combines the roles of citizen and artist. A founding member of AIA Huron Valley, Richard Robinson practiced architecture in Ann Arbor from 1950-1990 as a citizen who offered his knowledge and skills to the general society of shared goals that construct our built world. For him, architecture was both a service and an art. 

Mr. Herman Hilker, a junior in the undergraduate architecture program from Whitmore Lake, served as creative director for Students Allied for Clean Water Action, and served on the AIAS Junior Executive Board at Taubman College. His future ambitions include pursuing his architectural license and investigating the roles that architecture can play in social rehabilitation and revitalization throughout Michigan's communities.

Congratulations to Trevor, Hans, Kati, and Yojairo on their fine work!

© AIA Huron Valley
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management