Log in

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects 

Serving Michigan's Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, and Washtenaw Counties
Log in

AIA Huron Valley 2014 Honor Awards

Sunday, November 24, 2013 4:38 PM | Anonymous member

AIA Huron Valley Honor Awards

This year's AIA Huron Valley Honor Awards celebration took place on Saturday, October 26th in conjunction with the Chapter’s Annual Meeting held this year in the Pendleton Room at the Michigan Union in Ann Arbor.


As part of this year’s Honor Awards program, we kicked off the Chapter’s 50th anniversary celebration by honoring five founding members who remain members of the AIA Huron Valley Chapter nearly 50 years since our Chapter’s Charter was bestowed by AIA National on November 26, 1963. 


We were delighted to have nearly 93 years young Donald F. Wright, AIA and his daughter Barbara join us for the evening.  Mr. Wright was presented with a plaque recognizing and honoring him, along with the 26 founding members of this chapter, for the wisdom, energy, and commitment expressed fifty years ago in the creation of this Chapter and for efforts extended in developing its legacy to unite members of the architectural profession.” 


The Chapter will be sending plaques to the four founding members who were not able to be present at the celebration who include Mr. William L. James, AIA, Mr. Henry S. Kowalewski, AIA, Mr. Robert C. Metcalf, FAIA, and Mr. Keith F. Weiland, AIA


The Chapter is in the process of planning a series of events in 2014 to further celebrate our 50th anniversary year that will bookend the granting of our chapter charter and the incorporation of our chapter in the state of Michigan in December 16, 1964.  Watch for more information on our 50+50-+50 events and contact Dan Whisler at if you are interested in joining the committee planning these anniversary celebration events and activities


This year’s 2014 Honor Awards Recognitions committee included


Chair: Al Vegter, AIA

Heather Graham Lewis, AIA

Michael R. Strother, AIA

Anita M. Toews, AIA


And congratulations to our 2014 Recognition Award recipients:


Distinguished Community Service Award:           Damian Farrell, AIA


Emil Lorch Award:                                             Celeste Allen Novak, AIA


Lifetime Achievement Award:                             Terrance Sargent, AIA


Hopkins Award:                                                 Albert J. Vegter, AIA



We received 30 project submissions for our 2014 Honor Awards that were juried by our independent awards jury from AIA Grand Rapids that included:


Brian Swem, AIA – Chair

Matt Slagle, AIA

Robert Ferguson, AIA

Greg Metz, AIA


And congratulations to our 2014 juried Honor Award recipients:


Emerging Architect Award:         Andrew G. Hauptman, AIA


Firm AchievementAward:          Angelini & Associates Architects


Residential Honor Award:           Maywood Avenue Home, Studio Z Architecture


Small Project Honor Award:       Saunders Crescent Bungalow, Damian Farrell Design Group


Small Project Honor Award:       'Flying Carpet', area.architecture


Building Honor Award:               EMU - Mark Jefferson Science Complex Addition, Lord, Aeck & Sargent


Building Honor Award:               Farmington Hills City Hall Revitalization, Lindhout Associates architects AIA PC


Building Honor Award:               Kuyper Hall - Dordt College, Angelini & Associates Architects


Building Honor Award:               Ann Arbor Municipal Center, Quinn Evans Architects (Architect of Record) In association with Cannon Design (Design Architect – Justice Building)



Our 2014 Honor Awards program was generously supported by a number of important sponsors this year who we wish to thank for their generosity and commitment to the AIA Huron Valley Chapter.  Please visit our sponsorship page to see this year’s sponsors

© AIA Huron Valley
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management